Field Guide to Ultra Running

Hal Koener captured my heart last night in this dandy little novel. Ultra-running will always be my first love, and Hal really gets into the nitty gritty of some need to know stuff. Endurance sports are all about mental capacity and some training of course. Reading this sparked that fire in me to get the hell into training mode and do something great. 

I love the part about goal setting. I am a huge believer in goal setting, mainly because I hold myself strictly accountable for those goals I actually lay out. And I am a severely loose cannon if I aimlessly go about my day or week. Once something is in my head it stays there, and Hal through all these tiny dreams that will eventually turn into solid ironed out goals. My first dream that is formulating is another trail marathon that would give me a goal and a long distance run which would set me up for my second dream a ultra run 50k and a 50 miler! Along with my diverse training I want to fit an iron man in there šŸ˜

Ok I know I go crazy with a little motivation, it turns into a wildfire of excitement and dreaming. So I set some training in place and I’m trying to rigourously stay with it as closely as possible.

Week One 

Day One -Monday morning 5am 

2.6 mile stationary bike

800 yard swim .40 mile 

  
My new cap from #lovethepain šŸ™‚ 

I’m lucky I had this on today, because otherwise I don’t think I would have made it. I just saying if I complete this swim I’ll take a sweet picture with my cap. Man, I literally thought for every breath. I still don’t know why my swim workout was so rough but I’m hoping next time in the pool I slide through 800 yards. 

Steel

Find your inner “rekkr”
What motivates you guys during those rough workouts? Those long miles? 

Leave a Reply

