Rekkr

    

courage

noun
1.the quality of mind or spirit that enables a person to face difficulty, danger, pain, etc., without fear; bravery.

I believe it’s possible to be courageous and still have fear. I think that fear defines courage, without it we may not be able to recognize this trait. Often times I’ve found myself holding back during workouts. It wasn’t because of difficulty of routine or my own ability but out of fear.

Tonight I stared fear down jumped in the pool and swam relentlessly. I had that lumming number (1760) in my mind as I was swimming. I had only swam consecutively for 50 yards and then I would break. I thought that if I was ever going to swim a mile 1760yards in a race I would need to seriously work on my endurance. After my first 200 yards I was gasping for air and falling out of form. I found some form of courage and pushed through feeling like I wouldn’t be able to breathe and just kept swimming šŸ˜‰šŸ 

I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT! I swam 350 yards consecutively. It was certainly reassuring, made me feel like I would be actually able to race. I know it’s a long way off but this is huge progress. 

So far writing down my workout really is holding me accountable and I’ve done both both scheduled workouts so far. I did do legs today as well before swimming. 

Leave a Reply

